How a Zen Monk Overcame the Fear of Viruses


Before becoming a zen master, Zen Master Kyong Ho was a great sutra master. One time, he passed by a village and was terrified by the many corpses from a cholera epidemic. He was struck by his attachment to life and death despite much understanding of the words of the sutras, and decided to practice hard to attain a true understanding of himself.

After a few months of intensive practice, Zen Master Kyong Ho became enlightened when he heard what his friend said to his attendant: “If your teacher is reborn as a cow, he will be a cow with no nostrils.” This is the poem he wrote upon attaining the great enlightenment:

I heard about the cow with no nostrils
and suddenly the whole universe is my home.
Yon Am Mountain lies flat under the road.
A farmer, at the end of his work, is singing.

In the old days, the cow was a very important animal for farming. The farmer would put a ring through the nostrils of the cow and tie a rope to the ring. The owner of the cow would pull the cow around wherever he wanted it to go. So this cow's freedom was in the hands of the owner, and it was controlled by the rope.

Humans nowadays are similar to this cow with a ring through its nostrils. We are pulled by the ropes of money, fame, recognition, anger, competition at all levels of the society and all sorts of information from social media. These ropes cause us to live in an era filled with uncertainty, fear, anxiety, and worry. When we heard that the city was running out of masks, rice, and toilet paper, we panicked. We lost our logical thinking and became ignorant. Those who want to make a profit or take advantage of the situation can easily use this rope to tie us so that we will follow the news mindlessly.

When Zen Master Kyong Ho heard of a cow with no nostrils, he immediately knew he was pulled by his panic and fear. Let us learn from this story and transform our fear, worries and ignorance into Great Freedom. It doesn’t mean that the problem is not there, but it means that we are able to deal with our situation and problems in a wiser way.

鏡虛禪師與疫境


鏡虛在成為禪師之前,已經是一位很有名的經師。有一天,他經過一條受到霍亂疫症感染的村落,村內躺著很多具屍體。鏡虛感到很害怕,他發現自己雖然懂得很多佛經的道理,但仍然執著於生和死。他深受打擊,並下定決心要努力修行,證入真正的自性。

經過多月的深入修持後,一天,鏡虛聽到他的朋友對他的侍者說的一句話:「如果你師父輪迴做牛的話,他會做一隻沒有鼻孔的牛。」之後他便開悟了。鏡虛禪師在證得開悟後,寫下了這首偈語(悟道頌):

忽聞人語無鼻孔,
頓覺三千是我家。
六月燕岩山下路,
野人無事太平歌。

在古代農業社會,牛是很重要的動物。農夫會在牛的鼻孔上穿一個環,並將一條繩繫於環上。牛的主人會拉著牛到任何他想要去的地方。因此,牛的自由掌握在主人的手中,而牠亦被一條繩索所控制著。

現在人們的處境,與一頭鼻孔上穿著環的牛很相似。我們被很多條繩索拉扯著:金錢、名譽、讚賞、嬲怒、社會上各方面的競爭,以及各種社交媒體的資訊等。這些繩索令到我們活在一個充滿不確定性、恐懼、焦慮和不安的時代。當我們聽見市面上缺少口罩、米和厠紙供應時,我們便驚惶失措。我們會失去邏輯思維,變得無明。那些想借機賺錢或乘機巧取的人,很容易便利用了這條繩索去束縛著我們,讓我們不自覺地跟隨著新聞報道走。

當鏡虛禪師聽見沒有鼻孔的牛時,他立刻覺知自己被驚惶與恐懼拉著走。讓我們從這個故事中學習,將我們的恐懼、不安和無明轉化為大自在。這樣並不表示問題並不存在,但我們是可以用更有智慧的方法,去處理我們的狀況和問題的。