Karma & Wake Up

Zen Master Seung Sahn
Extract from The Compass of Zen

So karma is very simple: Right now, what do you like? That mind makes your next moment, next moment, next moment. All of this makes your next life, like pearls strung together on a necklace.

In this world, cause and effect are always very clear — not only in the human realm, but in everything you see. If rain comes, flowers appear everywhere. If there is no rain, the flowers do not grow. When the sun comes out, it is warm; when the sun is hidden by clouds, it is cool outside.

The same is true of human beings' life. If you want to take away your karma, strong practicing is very important. Then your karma cannot control you and you can use your karma to help all beings. That is a very important point.

Since you share similar karma with certain other people, you can use this karmic affinity either to hurt or help them. Nearly everyone is deeply attached to their thinking, so they are attached to their karma. They are completely asleep, and cannot help other people.

If you cut off all thinking and all desires, you will wake up. If you keep a thinking mind, however, then your daily life is a dream. Waking up from this dream is more difficult than waking up from an ordinary dream, so you must try very hard.

When you wake up, then you can control your karma. With no special effort, this helps those around you. So we must wake up!

業力與覺醒

崇山禪師 節錄自《禪羅針盤》

業力很簡單 : 現在,你喜歡什麼? 這個想法製造了你的下一刻,下一刻,下一刻。 而這一切製造了你的下一生,就如將一顆一顆的珍珠串成一條項鍊般。

在這世間,因和果永遠都非常清晰——不僅是在人世間,也在你看到的一切事物中。當有雨水時,花朶會到處生長; 如果沒有雨水,則花不會長出來。太陽出來時,會很溫暖; 當陽光被雲遮擋時,外面會很涼。

人類的生活也是如此。如果你想要擺脫業力,最重要的就是要精進修持。若果你精進修行,你的業力便不能控制你,而你能夠運用你的業力來幫助所有眾生。這是非常重要的一點。

我們會與一些人有著相類似的業力,因此我們可以運用這種共同的業力去傷害這些人,亦可以去幫助這些人。幾乎每個人都深深地執著於自己的思維,因此人們都執著於自己的業力。他們沉沉地睡著了,無法去幫助其他人。

如果你能夠切斷所有思維和妄想,你便會覺醒。 但是,如果你仍然保持著思維的心,那麼你每一日都是活在夢中。 要從這個夢中醒來,比從一個普通的夢中醒來更加困難,因此你必須非常努力。

當你覺醒時,你的業力便不能控制你。這樣, 不用特別去做些什麼,便已經幫助了你身邊的人。因此,我們必須覺醒!