Four Compartments of an Ox's Stomach

Many people are using an Ox to give us encouragement for the Year of Ox.

On our first day of the lunar year, Zen Master Seong Hyang told us on Zoom about the Ox having a stomach with four compartments, and each compartment having a different function.  Oxen will eat almost every kind of grass they can find; that’s why they need four compartments to breakdown and digest the grass.  First, they swallow without much chewing; then when the oxen are free, they will chew on the cud, a portion of food that returns from the first compartment, the rumen, to the mouth, and so forth. 

As the food breaks down from different compartments of the stomach, billions of enzymes and digestive juices mix with the food.  After the whole process is completed, essential nutrients are extracted and sent to the bloodstream, and the rest go to the intestines.  Zen Master Soeng Hyang encouraged us to live like the Ox with a four-compartment stomach to digest our karma. 

This inspires me dearly. 

In our school, Zen Master Seung Sahn gave us some tools to transform our karma, similar to the four compartments of the Ox's stomach.  This whole process of digestion is very interesting.  The same is true for our practice.  Every day we interact with many people, including family, friends and colleagues.  At the same time, many emotions, thinking, business, finance, relationships, the recent pandemic crisis, etc. are jamming our mind.  Our mind has to digest all sorts of information, and often we have no time to filter it out.  That’s why we need to have time to practice every day in order to digest the things that appear in our life and turn them into something very useful to ourselves and those around us.

Our digestive enzyme is “Don’t Know".  Whenever our discriminating, blaming, labelling, depression, or anxiety mind appears, it is like the cud coming back to the mouth.  We use our breathing in and out from our lower belly to digest all the opposite thinking and conditioning in our everyday life.  Our habits of clinging are still there as they go to the second compartment of the stomach, where we have the enzyme of "Don’t Hold."  Intellectually we understand, but still inside our mind, we have these lingering emotions and thinking.  We need to do more practice of sitting, bowing and chanting to help the process.  The third stomach is using the enzyme of "What Is this?  What am I?  What am I doing right now?" to speed up the process of “Putting It All Down“.  The fourth compartment contains the most productive enzyme of “Just Do It".  Now the digested karma are ready to be used correctly in each situation, relationship and function.

Ox year is a golden year for transforming our karma.  May all our karma become Great Love, Great Compassion and Great Wisdom.  This will be our wonderful year!

牛的四個胃

踏入牛年,我們都聽到很多以牛為主題的鼓勵說話。

在農曆大年初一,性香禪師通過 Zoom 為我們開示。她談到牛有四個胃,每一個胃都有不同的功能。牛會吃掉面前任何種類的草,因此牠們需要四個胃去分解和消化這些雜草。牠們先會簡單嘴嚼幾下,然後便把食物嚥下。待牠們閒下來時,會從第一個胃(瘤胃)反芻一部份食物回口中,再慢慢嘴嚼,如此類推。

當食物在不同的胃中分解時,會混合數以億萬計的酵素和消化液。完成整個消化過程後,重要的養份會被提取並傳送到血液中,其餘的會去到腸道裏。性香禪師鼓勵我們要活得好像有四個胃的牛般,去消化我們的業力。

這個開示深深地啟發了我。

在我們的禪院,崇山禪師給了我們很多轉化業力的工具,就如牛的四個胃一般。整個消化過程很有趣,與我們的修持很相似。我們每天都和很多人交流,包括家人、朋友和同事。同時,諸如情緒、思維、生意、財務、人際關係、最近的疫症等等,不時干擾我們的心。我們的心要消化各種各樣的資訊,但很多時候我們都没有時間去過濾這些訊息。因此,我們每天都要分配時間去修行,才能消化在生活中出現的各種事情,並將它們轉化成一些利己利他的東西。

我們的消化酵素是「不知」。當我們的分別心、責備心、標籤的心、沮喪或焦慮的心生起時,它們就如反芻回口中的食物一般。這時,我們利用下腹吸氣與呼氣,去消化所有日常生活中的相對思維和狀況。我們執著的習氣在去到第二個胃時仍然存在,在這個胃裏,有「不執著」的酵素。我們往往從知識層面上去認知,但在心內,這些情緒和思維仍是揮之不去。因此,我們要多坐禪、禮佛和念誦去促進消化過程。第三個胃的酵素是「是什麼?我是誰?我當下在做什麼?」。它可以加速「放下一切」的過程。第四個胃內的酵素是最有功效的「只是去做」。此時,被消化的業力可以正確地運用於每一個環境、關係和運作上。

牛年是黃金的一年,是我們轉化業力的好時機。願我們將業力化為大慈、大悲與大智。今年將會是精彩的一年!