One Experience, One Commitment

Francis Lau — IT Team Member at Su Bong
01/09/2021

The year 2020: Myong Hae Sunim passed away.

On the morning of August 2 last year, the IT team helped out as usual with the live stream at Gaksu Temple. When it was time for Myong Hae Sunim to deliver her Dharma speech, she did not appear on the computer screen as expected. Other Sunims tried to contact her several times but there was no answer, so they had to put the mobile phone down. Halfway down the mountain after the ceremony was over, an unreal message came through my phone: Myong Hae Sunim has passed away in a car accident in Lithuania...

Zen students around the world decided to hold special chanting every night during the first 49 days of Myong Hae Sunim’s death. Given Gaksu’s remote location and other constraints, we encountered many technical difficulties and challenges, but compared with losing a life mentor and close friend, all that was nothing!

On the first few nights of the special chanting, most of us did not say much, and we felt that we just had to give our best to whatever we were doing. One thing was certain: you, he, she and I were all experiencing this pain. How to liven up and elevate that? This was the real challenge!

Then one night Zen Master Dae Kwan gave a Dharma talk for everyone. Sifu pointed out a key point: a sudden “HIT!!!” at the moment of the car accident, isn’t it a “primary point” with which Myong Hae Sunim practiced every day? Using the last moment of life like that is just like using Kong-an teachings in everyday life; was not Myong Hae Sunim’s example exactly like that? Yes, yes! After listening to Sifu’s talk, everyone seemed to rally again. Sifu was to Myong Hae Sunim what a “skilled craftsman” was to “fine wood”, adept at interpreting Myong Hae Sunim’s example and teachings for everyone.

As Sifu delivered the talk I could see Zen students from all over the world through the live broadcast cameras; long-lost smiles and streaks of comfort began to appear on their faces. That moment was a turning point!

Zen students from all over the world indeed extended all over the globe, encouraging and supporting each other through practice. This unity of karma was not hindered by geography. Look, the Spanish students are adjusting the livestream cameras; the Korean novice monk are trying out the lights in the Dharma room; the American practitioners are sitting solemnly still in robes; the Lithuanian family members of Myong Hae Sunim and interpreters are getting ready; the European Dharma teachers and students are setting up their microphones... From what I saw, although it was the first time that a global live stream was held, every participant worked together to make this special chanting possible. Even if there was little verbal communication, we still cooperated smoothly.

The live broadcast from Lithuania is still fresh in my memory: the funeral celebrant and family and friends led the ashes of Myong Hae Sunim to the burial ground in the heavy rain. In front of a monument, the rain let up for a while, and the mourners present and the global Sangha chanted and practiced simultaneously. It was like everyone was pouring all the energy, love and compassion of their lives to escort the ashes of Myong Hae Sunim into the earth of peace. This awe-inspiring scene was transmitted live and clear from Lithuania to the heart of fellow practitioners all overthe world, which was moving and incredible! In the most beautiful scene of the forty-ninth day, everyone opened the window of their mind and opened their heart, smiling and waving their hands brightly like flowers. Whether pain or joy, one by one,we experienced and bore it together. Life was thus sublimated; this experience was really precious.

To be honest, this journey had not been an easy one. From the beginning when we had to hold back tears of sadness, we gradually digested the news with humble practice, walking step by step... Myong Hae Sunim has bequeathed us unimaginable grace and enlightenment. I am grateful for the privilege of taking part in and learning from this special chanting. I did not just experience the “Borderless, Together Action”. I also came face to face with the “Whole World Is a Single Flower” spirit of Zen Master Man Gong.

Here I would like to express my sincere gratitude to Sifu Zen Master Dae Kwan for her guidance during the journey, Myong Hae Sunim’s example, teachings and dedication to life, and her parents.

We are proud of Myong Hae Sunim!

Francis Lau
IT Team Member at Su Bong

《共同經歷;共同承擔》

Francis Lau — 秀峰 IT 組學員
01/09/2021

二零二零年,明海師離去了。

去年八月二日早上,IT組如常在覺修寺製作直播。到了明海師開示環節時,原本已約好了,她卻沒有如期在電腦畫面中出現;法師多次聯繫也沒有回音,只好把手機擱下。節目完結後,下山途中,電話傳來一則彷彿不真實的訊息:明海師在立陶宛遇上交通意外身故……。

全球的同修決定以在線方式(Zoom Meeting)替明海師舉辦四十九天共修法會。礙於覺修寺的地理環境和客觀條件,我們在技術上遇到很多困難與挑戰,然而相比失去了一位生命導師及摯友,那些都算不上甚麼!

共修初期,我們大部分人都沒有太多話說,感覺盡力做好面前的事就是了。有一點可以肯定的,是你、我、她都在經歷這份傷痛。如何重新振作並轉化?這才是真正挑戰!

其後某天晚上,師父(大觀禪師)為大家開示。她指出了一個重點:發生車禍瞬間猛然的一「HIT!!!」,對明海師而言,不就是每天熟練的「元點 primary point」嗎?!生命最後一剎那用得上這工夫,就如把公案房內的教學,活生生用在生命中,明海師的身教不就已經做到了嗎?對,的而且確!聽罷,大家似乎都振作起來了。如果把明海師比喻為「良木」,那師父就像是她的「巧匠」,懂得為大家解讀明海師的身教。

接下來,從直播畫面可以看到世界各地的同修,臉上流露了久違的笑容和絲絲安慰。這剎那就是轉捩點!

各地的同修無遠弗屆,大家以實修互相勉勵,互相扶持。這股上下一心的能量,沒有被地域阻隔。看,西班牙的師兄細心調整直播畫面;韓國的法師沙彌在禪室開燈試光;美國的同修一身戒衣道袍端坐如儀;立陶宛的家屬和傳譯準備就緒;歐洲的導師同學設定咪高峰音量……眼前所見,雖是首次舉辦全球互動直播,每位參與者共同努力成就這次共修,即使甚少言語溝通,卻還是合作無間。

立陶宛的一幕直播片段至今記憶猶新:主禮人和家屬親友在滂沱大雨中,領著明海師骨灰前往墓地。碑前,驟雨稍停,送行隊伍和全球僧團同步念誦共修,大家就像傾注畢生所有的能量和慈愛,護送明海師骨灰入土為安。這震撼的一幕,由立陶宛清晰傳送到世界各地同修的心坎裡,令人動容又不可思議!第四十九天最美的一幕,大家都打開了畫面打開了心,如同鮮花般燦爛的微笑和揮手,無論痛苦還是喜樂,一  共同經歷,共同承擔。生命,得以轉化昇華,這經驗實在太珍貴了。

說真的,這次過渡實在不容易,由最初忍著傷心淚水,漸漸以踏實的修持沉澱消化,一步一步走過來……明海師留給我們的恩惠太多太多了。感恩有幸學習和見證這次共修,體驗「無國界together action」之餘,並領會到滿空禪師以花落墨的「世界一花」精神。

在此,衷心感恩家師大觀禪師在過程中的啟導、明海師奉獻生命的身教,以及她的爸爸媽媽。

我們以明海師為榮!

Francis Lau

秀峰 IT組學員