Separated, Yet Connected

Minh Ngan Tran
02/03/2022

 

COVID-19 — an invisible virus that brought our world on a halt.

In Hong Kong, when Myong Hae Sunim JDPS, our beloved second guiding teacher, died suddenly in Lithuania last August, the pandemic prevented our shaken sangha from gathering in person to support one another. Our astute Sifu immediately told us to convene on Zoom every night from 6:30 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. to practice together and chant Ji Jang Bosal for forty-nine days straight. Our global sangha joined us, especially our dearest dharma brothers and sisters in Lithuania.

Every night, on the way home from work, at dinner, on my evening runs, I listened to the chanting and appreciated especially all the sharing at the end. Sifu called on different people she saw on the screen and asked them to say something. Before we logged off each night, Sifu reminded us to smile as we waved our greetings to Myong Hae Sunim’s mom in Lithuania. 

Following Chinese Buddhist traditions, we held a special memorial ceremony every seventh day for seven Saturdays — still all on Zoom. Every Saturday morning, I was so happy to go buy fresh flowers for the virtual memorial. It gave me so much joy to be able to honor our dear teacher with this shared love of flowers — Myong Hae Sunim always enjoyed tending to gardens wherever she went. 

Most nights I was alone, but every night I was happy to see and hear everyone on Zoom. By then our Zen Center had been closed for more than half a year, and we had been Zooming all along. I was grateful that our teachers, sunims, and sangha members around the world had adapted to practicing together online so quickly. This constant virtual support and together practice have helped many of us through the trials and tribulations of life amid COVID-19.

Another source of dharma joy and connection for me has been a virtual study group that came together spontaneously more than a year ago. Hungry for more sangha time, a small group of us has gotten together every Thursday on Zoom to discuss an appointed chapter from Dropping Ashes on the Buddha. We begin with the content of a given chapter, but that content is just the springboard for wider and freewheeling conversations about our individual and collective experiences with the practice. We discuss our struggles and triumphs with kong-an interviews; we recall favorite encounters and exchanges with different teachers; we share how we’ve used the practice in our daily life, from fights with loved ones to difficult colleagues at work. All the while we laugh and encourage each other to return to this beautiful training of putting it all down, Removing our ego, and gaining greater clarity in each moment so that we can be more useful to those around us and this world. 

What underpins these conversations is our shared passion for the practice and our loving friendship built from more than a decade of practicing together. Gathering with these dharma friends in this manner has revitalized my practice and reinforced my commitment to this path. No matter how busy I am at work, for more than sixty weeks already I look forward to every Thursday night for our Dropping Ashes on the Buddha study group. 

This invisible virus is like our karma. We cannot see it, but it’s always there and controlling us when we are not clear. How can we use our karma to benefit others? I am grateful that this pandemic has brought together our global sangha in the most unexpected ways, from solemn events of memorials and funerals to celebratory events of inka and transmission ceremonies. My sincere thanks from the bottom of my heart to all of you who have taken the time to click on a Zoom link so that we can connect and practice together. 

May we continue to keep the strongest don’t-know mind in these uncertain times. May we continue to help one another to stay on the path. Wherever you are, know that your dharma brothers and sisters are here for you. 


Minh Ngan Tran was born and raised in the Chinese Mahayana tradition. He encountered the Kwan Um School of Zen as a member at Yale University in 2005 and has practiced with the school ever since.  He relocated to Hong Kong in 2011 and took five precepts in 2012 and ten precepts in 2014 at Su Bong Zen Monastery under the guidance of Zen Master Dae Kwan.

分隔著,連繫卻常在

慧日
02/03/2022

 

肉眼看不見的2019新冠病毒,令世界停擺了。

前年8月,香港僧團驚悉我們敬愛的第二位指導法師明海師在立陶宛遽逝,疫情卻令我們無法見面互相支持。精明的師父馬上叫我們安排透過 Zoom,連續四十九天每晚 6 時半至 9 時,一同念誦地藏菩薩名號。全球各地的僧團亦踴躍參與,尤其是立陶宛的師兄師姐們。

每晚,無論是下班回家途中、吃晚飯還是跑步,我都聽著念誦,而最後的分享環節尤其寶貴。師父會點名叫螢幕上的同修說些分享;每晚離線之前,師父又提醒我們保持微笑,向身處立陶宛的明海師母親揮手說再見。

念誦期間,我們遵照漢傳佛教的傳統,每週六特意舉行「頭七」法會,前後一共七遍──同樣以Zoom進行。每個星期六早上,我都懷著愉快的心情去買鮮花,準備在網上追思會供養明海師。明海師生前無論到哪裡總愛打理花園──我們倆都喜愛花;所以能夠以供花這個方式紀念她,我感到很開心。

那些晚上,我通常獨自一人,但每晚在Zoom與大家見面或聽到念誦的聲音,卻總會覺得心寬。當時,禪院已關閉半年有多,我們一直借助 Zoom 進行共修。全球各地的導師、法師和僧團很快便適應了在線上共修,我很感恩。在網絡上持續的支援和共修,幫助我們很多人克服了疫情期間的種種挑戰。

另外,我內心的法喜還來自一個網上讀書會,是一年多前自發組成的。為了爭取更多僧團共處的時間,我們一小群人約定每逢週四晚上在 Zoom 碰面,討論《彈灰在佛身》的指定章節。討論由個別章節的內容出發,但書中內容只是一塊跳板,讓我們自由地分享個人或共同的修行體驗。我們談及參公案過程中的挫折與成功、與各位導師難忘的回憶和交流、如何在日常生活中善用禪法,包括如何處理與親人或同事的磨擦。討論期間,我們笑聲不絕,互相提醒要謹記禪院的珍貴教法──放下一切、放下小我、時刻保持清明心──好讓我們能夠為身邊的人和這個世界,多做一點事。這些對話的背後,有著我們對修行抱持的熱誠,還有共修十多年而建立的友誼。跟法友相聚的時間,令我對修行更加起勁,更加堅定去走這條法道。不管工作有多忙碌,我總是期待每週四晚上的《彈灰在佛身》讀書會,至今已超過六十多個星期。

這個看不見的新冠病毒,就像我們的業力。它是無形的,卻一直都在,每當我們內心不清明就會支配我們。怎樣可以轉化業力來利益他人?這次疫情以最令人意外的方式,把我們世界各地的僧團凝聚起來,不論是肅穆的追思會或葬禮,以至喜慶的印可和傳法儀式。我對每位曾抽空在 Zoom 連線過的朋友們表達由衷的感謝,是你讓彼此可以連繫起來,一同共修。在這段變幻無常的日子,祈願我們更堅定地時刻保持「不知的心」,繼續在法道上互相扶持。無論你在哪裡,別忘記你的法友都在關心你。
 


慧日在漢傳大乘佛教的家庭中長大。2005年在耶魯大學唸書時初遇國際觀音禪院,一直修持至今。2011年移居香港,翌年在秀峰禪院大觀禪師座下受持五戒,再於2014年受持十戒。