Live Out Life with Gratitude

This last November, the Su Bong Zen Monastery production team made a documentary for Luang Por, Pra Pongsak — a Thai forest monk and the first teacher who opened my mind through the teaching of living in Nature to experience the pure nature of our true nature. Nature only gives and never asks for reward. The taste of this great joy and happiness makes me feel I am always in debt to Luang Por. This deep gratitude never stops.

Our production team asked me to take them to where I started to practice and explain those moments of insight. When we returned to those places and started recording, deep inside I felt as if those stories and insights were from a past life. Even at that moment when I was sharing those experiences, it was like someone was telling another person’s experience. Those experiences were not mine nor were they real — it was a taste of shocking impermanence and emptiness.

After that, we met the current abbot of the temple where I used to practice. We talked for a while and then he asked jokingly: “Would you like to have this temple back?” I told him: “I am just a guest passing by. Now it is your turn to do this abbot job. I wish you every success in spreading the Dharma.”

Have you ever felt like we are just guests passing by? It doesn’t matter who you are or what experience you have — after all it will not remain the same. 2019 is replacing 2018. What you have accomplished and not accomplished both you cannot keep. The one thing we can keep is being grateful.

We are grateful to have been born as humans because we were given a chance to grow and learn. So many people have shared their knowledge and experiences with us. So many opportunities have been given to us. Most importantly, we met the Dharma and have keen-eyed teachers to show us the way to practice, become free from suffering, and attain true freedom.

May we always keep this attitude of gratitude in our everyday life, in our careers, and in our relationships and friendships. In this gratitude there is no past or future; we are only truly living in this moment 100%. This gratitude mind is willing to accept and let go. In this gratitude, we will be humble in our willingness to take up responsibility and feel great honour to have a chance to pay it forward. May we all, in the year 2019, the year of the pig, live a life of gratitude, and then attain all the vows of the awakened, wise beings and help each other.

Our mind is like a bright pearl shining
into the whole universe;
Live out life with gratitude, and
without effort, attain everything.

心中明珠照大千
活出感恩萬事成


Happy New Year!
May the Year of the Pig bring you good health and happiness, filled with fruitful experiences of wisdom and compassion!

活出感恩


在剛過去的十一月,秀峰禪院的攝製團隊為Luang Por, Pra Pongsak製作了一部記錄片。Luang Por是一位泰國森林僧,他是第一位打開我的心的老師。他教導我們在大自然中生活,從而去體會我們清淨的自性。大自然只是給予,從不要求回報。這些教導讓我嘗到很大的喜悅和快樂,亦令我感到我永遠欠Luang Por的恩德,內心無盡的感恩。

我帶著攝製團隊去到我在泰國修行的地方,並解說當時的各種體會。當我重回舊地,並開始拍攝時,我內心深處感到這些故事和體會就如是前一生所發生的事情。在我分享著這些經驗的時候,就如某人在說著另一人的體驗。那些體驗不是我的,亦不是真的 — 那是一種很令人震驚的、對於無常和空性的體會。

拍攝完後,回到我從前修行的寺廟裡,我們與現任住持見面。我們閒話家常,然後他開玩笑地問我:「你想要回這間寺廟嗎?」我回答:「我只是一位過客。現在是由你來擔起住持的工作。我祝福你在弘揚佛法上,事事如意!」

你有沒有曾經感覺到我們都只不過是一位過客?無論你是何人、你曾經有何體會,最終都會變化,不會保持不變的。2019年會取代2018年。無論過去你實現到的、還是實現不到的事情,你也不能永遠擁有它。你可以擁有的是感恩。

我們感恩能夠生而為人,能夠有機會成長和學習。有很多人與我們分享了他們的知識和經驗,給予我們各種的機會。最重要的是我們遇到佛法、有銳眼的老師指導我們修行的方向,為我們指示脫離痛苦、證入真正自由之路。

願我們在日常生活中、工作中、人際關係和友誼中,都時刻保持著感恩的態度。這感恩當中沒有過去或未來;我們只是百分百真正的活在當下。這感恩的心願意去接受,亦願意放下。感恩的心讓我們願意謙虛地承擔起責任,並為有這樣的機會而感到榮幸。在2019豬年,願我們一起活出感恩,證入所有覺者和智者的弘願,並互相幫助。

心中明珠照大千
活出感恩萬事成


新年快樂!
願豬年為你帶來健康與快樂,願你的生命充滿慈悲與智慧的果實!