Sleepiness during Sitting

Minh
16/01/2019



The retreat last week for me was truly an impactful one. Even though it was my 7th year going to retreats in Gaksu, I had some new experiences that really revolutionized my practice.

SLEEPINESS DURING SITTING

The first two days I was soooo sleepy. I kept “fishing” during sitting and was so embarrassed because I felt that, as an “old” student, I should have sat better. I asked Alma JDPSN and Myong Hae Sunim JDPS about this in an interview on the third day and each teacher gave me a gift that will last a lifetime.

I wanted techniques and tips that would help me stay awake during sitting but Myong Hae Sunim JDPS hit me with this question: “How do you sleep at night?” My thinking stopped in that moment and I immediately understood. She continued, “If you don’t address the root of the problem, no tip or technique will help you.” I was so excited for retreat that I couldn’t sleep the first two nights — that’s why I was “fishing” during sitting. After that interview I tried to sleep more at night. And if I didn’t have good sleep at night, then I forced myself to take a nap during the morning or afternoon rest time.

Alma JDPSN gave me a different gift. She said, when you’re sleepy, breathe in deeply and “let all the oxygen in.” She showed me by taking a deep breath and filling her lungs fully. The sight of her deep breathing reminded me that meditation is rooted in the breath. I had been so worried about staying awake and keeping mantra that I forgot about the quality and awareness of my breathing. After Alma’s inspiring example, I tried to pay more attention to breath. I experimented with syncing my breathing with my mantra and this experiment yielded incredibly positive results.

By syncing my breathing with my mantra, it raised the stakes for every breath. I tried to do one or two breaths per section of the Great Dharani, so I had to keep my mantra very clearly in order to get through a section with just one or two breaths. And the more I slowed down my breathing, the more time I had to get through a GD section. These dual goals reinforced each other and motivated me to stay very alert because each breath now carried a great purpose. And anytime that I felt a little sleepy and closed my eyes, I lifted my eyes with the beginning of each breath, all thanks to the oxygen that was filling my lungs and awakening the cells of my body.

Alma JDPSN and Myong Hae Sunim JDPS had completely revolutionized my sitting. I used to think that sitting was very boring, but this time, for the first time in my many years of practice, I didn’t dread sitting and in fact looked forward to it.

THE IMPORTANCE OF HOMEWORK

Another reminder for me during this retreat was the importance of "homework." Because I have been going to Gaksu for 7 years now, everything felt familiar and comfortable at this retreat. To keep myself motivated and clear, I set a daily goal of 108 Great Dharani per day. This goal gave purpose to each sitting, bowing and walking session, as well as any free time I had during the work, meal, and rest periods. The only other time that I had been able to complete 108 Great Dharani in one day was during an overnight sitting, and I had 24 hours to do it on that day. This week, thanks to the improved sitting, I was able to hit 108 Great Dharani every day.

Zen Master Dae Kwan reminded me, however, that we are not mantra machines, and it's not a competition about how many mantras one can do in a day. Rather, we use this mantra as a tool to keep clear, and we have to remember the teaching behind this mantra: Great Love and Great Compassion for All Beings. This is what we are practicing.

Once the retreat ended, I told myself that I need to have a daily homework post-retreat as well. This will keep my practice going strong into the new year. What is your homework for the new year? :-)

坐禪時昏沉

慧日
16/01/2019



過去一星期的禪修,對我來說影響深遠。即使這是我第七年去覺修寺禪修,當中新的體驗簡直革新了我的修持。

坐禪時昏沉 

最初的兩天,我非常昏沉,坐禪時不斷打瞌睡。我很慚愧,因為畢竟我是「舊」學生了,感覺自己應該能坐好一點。第三天參公案時,我向 Alma 及明海指導法師請教,兩位導師分別給了我一生受用的教導。

我一直期望的是幫助自己保持清醒的技巧及辦法,然而明海指導法師當頭棒喝,問道:「你晚上睡得怎樣?」我的思維當下切斷了,我馬上明白了。她繼續說:「如果你不去找問題的根源,沒有技巧或方法能幫到你。」原來能夠來禪修讓我非常興奮,連續兩晚都睡不著,這就是我坐禪時打瞌睡的根本原因。公案後,我就嘗試晚上多睡點,如果晚上睡不好,我就迫自己早上或中午小休一會。

Alma 給我的提示有點不同。她說:「當你打瞌睡時,深深的吸一口氣,把所有的氧氣吸進去。」她示範了一次深呼吸將肺部完全填滿,她的深呼吸提醒了我坐禪的根本就在呼吸。我一直著緊要保持清醒及持咒,卻忘記關注呼吸本身和它的質量。Alma 的指導很有啟發性,我嘗試把注意力帶回呼吸上;嘗試把呼吸及持咒同步,這實驗帶來意想不到的正面效果。

當我把呼吸及持咒同步,每一個呼吸都自然提升了。我嘗試以一至兩次呼吸的長度去念每一段《大悲咒》。我必須要保持非常清明,才能做到以呼吸配合持咒。當我的呼吸漸漸放慢時,我便用長一點的時間去念咒。這兩個目標相輔相成,同時讓我保持清醒,因為現在每個呼吸都充滿意義。當我稍一昏沉並合上眼睛時,我便在吸氣時睜開眼睛,全靠已填滿我肺部的氧氣喚醒我身體的細胞。

Alma 及明海指導法師完全革新了我對坐禪的體驗。我一向以來認為坐禪是非常沉悶的,但這次是我多年來頭一次不再怕坐,相反還充滿期待呢!

功課的重要

這次禪修對我的另一個提示,就是發現了「功課」的重要。我已去了覺修寺七年,對禪修的所有細節都非常熟悉和習慣。要讓自己保持動力及清醒,我決定每天要念誦 108 遍《大悲咒》。這個目標為每節坐禪、禮佛、行禪及所有休息、用餐、工作禪時間都帶來了意義。之前,我唯一能一天內完成 108 遍《大悲咒》就是勇猛精進通宵坐禪,因為那天我有 24 小時去完成它。慶幸這個星期坐禪有所改進,我每天都能夠念完 108 遍。

師父大觀禪師則提醒我,我們不是念誦機,也不是要比賽一天能念多少遍;而持咒是一個工具去讓我們保持清明。我們亦要記著念誦背後的教法,就是奉獻予所有眾生的大慈大悲--這才是我們修行的方向。

禪修圓滿後,我告訴自己要繼續做好每天的功課,好讓新的一年修行更加堅定。你新一年的功課又是什麼呢?