Surrender

Zen Student
02/02/2019

When I go to a retreat, I usually work on a question that is inspired by the first Dharma talk of that retreat.

For this retreat, I was fortunate enough to learn from Alma Potter JDPSN about her experience with the practice. One word from her talk really hit my mind—surrender. Alma said that, when we are assigned a duty at temple or in the practice, we just do it with a "surrender" mind. “Yes! I try!” Alma demonstrated this surrender mind with an enthusiastic shout.

That shout hit me. Immediately two questions arose in my mind: “What is true surrendering? And how do we use surrendering in our practice?” This became my questions for the retreat.

I reflected that, in our everyday life, we indeed surrender to so many things. We surrender to pleasure; we surrender to laziness; and in my case, I surrender to Netflix a lot. But we seldom prioritze surrendering to the practice or actions that can help all beings.

After listening to Alma’s talk, I decided to try attaining this “surrender” mind in this retreat.

My first surrendering experience came during the Great Dharani special chanting session. In this session, we chant Great Dharani continuously, and some students bow at the same time for a stronger practice.

I have wanted to bow during special chanting for a long time because I always think a lot, and bowing helps to reduce my thinking. But I am used to surrendering to laziness. Come on... special chanting starts after the lunch break. It's one of the most comfortable times in our daily retreat schedule, and I already enjoy the chanting energy very much.

One day during special chanting, I saw hard-working Dharma brothers and sisters stand up and bow as usual. My mind started to struggle: to bow or not to bow?

Then suddenly Alma’s shout came to mind: “Surrender!” At the moment, I immediately stood up without any thinking. I told myself, “Yes! I try!”. And I started to bow and bow...

After some time, I noticed that the bowing students stopped gradually and sat back on their cushions because they had hit their daily bowing targets. They must have been counting their bows with counters or beads. I, on the other hand, didn’t have any counting devices and wondered what I should do.

Alma's shout came again: “Surrender!” "Yes! I try!" This time, I decided to surrender to the bell. I bowed and bowed until the end when I heard the bell.

By the time the bell rang, we finished special chanting, and my body was completely exhausted. But my mind was so clear and refreshed. This was a great experience of using “surrender” in the practice.

投降心

禪學生
02/02/2019

當我參與安居的時候,我通常會用導師開示時啓發我的問題,作為我安居修習的功課。

今次冬安居,十分幸運有 Alma Potter 指導菩薩帶領我們的禪修,讓我們禪學生可以學習她禪修的經驗。在她的分享裡,有一句話打中我的心。這句話就是「投降!」(Surrender),意思是當你在寺院或修行被委派工作時,你應該要成就「投降心」。「好!我去嘗試!」Alma 衷心的大聲呼喊,來示範「投降心」。

就在她大喊的一刻,我立即生起了疑情:「什麼才是真的投降?我如何能利用『投降』到我的修行裡?」這成為了我這次安居的功課。

我反省,在日常生活中,我們其實也經常做投降的行為。只不過,我們投降的對象,是歡愉、懶惰,而我自己則常常投降給 Netflix。相對而言,我們卻很少去「投降」給修行,或者做幫助眾生的事情。

聽過Alma的開示後,我決定這次安居要嘗試成就投降心。

我第一次體驗到投降心,是在一次大悲咒特別念誦的時候。在這個時段內,我們會持續念誦大悲咒。有些禪學生,會在念誦的同時拜懺,令修行更加精進。

其實我一直也想在念誦期間拜懺。因為我有很多思維,而拜懺很能夠對治我這種習性。不過,我已習慣向懶惰投降。拜託,念誦環節是午休之後開始,是一天禪修日程最舒服的一段時間,而我已經很享受念誦的能量。

就在一天的特別念誦,我看到一些精進的學生站了起來,如常一邊拜懺,一邊念誦。我的心開始掙扎,究竟我拜,還是不拜?

就在這刻,我心裡突然喚起Alma的叫喊,「投降吧!」在那剎那,我沒有想到什麼便站了起來。我跟自己說,「好,我嘗試!」然後在開始拜懺。

過了一段時間,我留意到本來在拜懺的學生,已經完成了自己每日的拜懺目標,坐回墊上。他們應該帶備了計數器或念珠,數著自己做了多少次拜懺。但我並沒有,所以我在猶豫應該怎樣做才好。

就在這刻,Alma的呼喊再次出現。「投降吧!」這次,我決定投降給鐘鈴,我一直拜,一直拜,直至到我聽到鐘聲響起為止。

當鐘聲響起,我們完成拜懺的時候,我的身體十分疲累,但我的內心卻感到無比清明和清新。這是我在修行中一次很好的「投降」體驗。

我希望各位和我自己,可以在修行中多嘗試成就投降。大家一起投降成佛,消除眾生的痛苦!