Why you have two eyes

During formal meals at retreat, students help to serve rice, soup, side dishes, and “clear” water. This is a great practice for everyone because everyone has to keep a clear mind. Those who are serving need to be clear about the serving order. Those who receive food have to be clear about which bowls they are using because each bowl holds a different kind of food.

After the meal, we wash our bowls with hot tea, dry them with a white cloth, and wrap them neatly with a brown cloth. To conclude the formal meal, one by one we put out our bowls, carefully lining them up with the bowls of the Dharma friends in our row. Each row then forms a straight line with their bowls. This is such a wonderful practice.

There is a kong-an that asks why we have two eyes. Many students can easily give a correct answer after a few tries. Unfortunately many of us will treat the answer as a model answer and forget to apply the spirit of the kong-an, which is the actual attainment of the answer. Very often we are happy when we can give a correct answer. Once we leave the kong-an room we will go back to our old habits. Most of us feel that our practice only applies to the meditation cushion. Our everyday life has nothing to do with the practice.

Attaining “why we have two eyes” means we are able to observe and reflect the situation. At the same time our action can flow with harmony accordingly. This seeing is not about checking ourselves or others but how we use our two eyes to make harmony with everyone. When you are on a bus and you “see” an older person, a pregnant lady, or a handicapped person, you give your seat to them. When you see that someone is about to fall, you try to help them. When you see some desirable products that you do not need, you look at them and walk away. When you are writing a cheque, you pay attention to what you are writing on the cheque. When you are at the airport, you watch out for the boarding time. In this way you are attaining “why you have two eyes”.

This is how we use our kong-an practice in our everyday life to make a clear life and help each other.

為什麼你有兩隻眼睛

在禪修吃過堂飯時,有同學會為大家端上白飯、湯水、餸菜和「清明」水。這是非常好的修持,因為每一個人都要保持清明心:端飯餸的人要清楚端的次序;取食物的人要清楚自己要用那一隻碗,因為不同類型的食物要使用不同的碗去盛載。

吃完過堂飯後,我們會用熱茶清洗自己的碗,之後用白色的布將碗抺乾,然後以啡色的布將它們整齊的包好。最後,我們會逐一將放在地上的碗推出去,並要小心地與其他法友的碗連成一條直線。如此,每一行的碗都成一直線。這是何等美好的修持!

有一個公案問:為什麼我們有兩隻眼睛?很多同學經過幾次嘗試之後,都很容易就回答出正確的答案。很不幸地,很多同學會視這答案為一個標準答案,而忘了去應用這個公案的精神。要真正證入答案,我們要去應用公案背後的精神。很多時候,當我們給了正確答案便很開心。 一旦離開公案房,我們便又執起我們的舊習氣。很多人覺得,我們的修持只能應用在禪修的坐墊上,而修持與我們的日常生活完全没有關係。

證入「為什麼我們有兩隻眼睛」的意思是,我們能夠觀察和反照當下的處境。同時,我們的行為要和諧地相應當時的處境。這種「看見」並不是要審察自己或他人,而是我們如何運用我們的雙眼去與所有人保持和睦。當你乘坐巴士時,你「看見」一位長者、一位孕婦、或一位傷健人士,你便讓坐給他們。當你看見有人將要跌倒,你嘗試去幫助他。當你看見一些很吸引,但你又用不著的產品時,你看一看它們,然後走開。當你寫支票時,留心你在支票上寫的東西。當你在機場時,留意登機時間。如此你就證入「為什麼你有兩隻眼睛」。

我們就是這樣運用公案的修持於日常生活中,活出清明的人生,並互相幫助。