Anger Comes from Where?


By Zen Master Su Bong
Dharma Talk given at the Hong Kong Zen Center* in October 1992

Anger comes from where? I want something or I don’t want something, that’s all. The whole world is like that. I want something. If I don’t get it, I am angry. I don’t want something but got it, I am also angry. Not only anger, sadness and happiness as well. That’s Buddha’s teaching and that is not Buddha’s teaching. That’s world’s teaching. Every day we experience all those things so that is not Buddha’s teachings. Buddha only said that, if you want to find correct life, you must attain correct human beings.

Buddha never said if you want to attain correct life and happiness, you must become like me. His disciples said you must become Buddha but Buddha never said you must become Buddha. So, this suffering, sadness and this world’s condition are all created by mind alone. What does it mean?

Where do this anger, happiness, sadness, likes and dislikes etc. come from? We, human beings, made those things so we have those things. We have those things then we give them to our friends, people we like, and people we don’t like, so this whole world think about these things as having concrete substance. But, where is your anger? If you have sadness, give me your sadness. If you have happiness, show me.

*"Hong Kong Zen Center" was the former name of Su Bong Zen Monastery

憤怒從哪裡來?


秀峰禪師
一九九二年十月於香港禪中心*之開示

憤怒從哪裡來?我想要一些東西,或我不想要一些東西,就是這樣而已。全世界都是如此:我想要一些東西,如果我得不到,我憤怒;我不想要一些東西,但我得到了,我也憤怒。不只是憤怒,悲傷和快樂也是一樣。這是佛陀的教法,這不是佛陀的教法,這是世間法。每一天我們都經歷這些事情,但這些都不是佛陀的教法。佛陀只是說,如果你想找到正確的人生,你必須要證入正確的人。

佛陀從沒有說過,假如你想證入正確的人生和快樂,你必須要變成跟我一樣。他的弟子說你必須成佛,但佛陀從未說過你必須成佛。痛苦、悲傷和世間的狀況全都是由心所製造。這是什麼意思?

憤怒、快樂、悲傷、喜和惡等,它們是從哪裏來?我們,人製造了這些東西,所以我們便有了這些東西。我們有了這些東西,然後將它們送給朋友、我們喜歡的人、我們不喜歡的人,然後全世界都以為這些東西是有實在的本質的。但是,你的憤怒在那裡?如果你有悲傷,將你的悲傷交給我。如果你有快樂,展示給我看。

*秀峰禪院前名為「香港禪中心」